What was I supposed to be doing?

It is a really, unbelievably, incredibly beautiful spring day. These days don’t happen often around here. Usually spring is 3 days long and in February before winter returns and then summer shows up sometime around the first of May, interrupted only by a few nasty thunderstorms where my dogs freak out and prevent me from getting a good nights sleep. Understandably, such lovely weather prevents me from doing what I was supposed to be doing which was, in chronological order . . .

  1. Have dinner with friends
  2. Go to the library and pick up a book that was on hold for me
  3. Read the first ten pages of that book
  4. Walk the dogs
  5. Open a bottle of wine
  6. Take pictures of the cork and a flower arrangement
  7. Tidy the kitchen
  8. Do the dishes
  9. Clear off my desk so I have space to set up my laptop to work . . .

Hmmm, that sounds familiar. What was I supposed to be doing?

Oh, right! My parents ever so kindly volunteer to watch my little one so I could work at working tonight since I am so behind at work. And what have I done so far? NOTHING! Except for those 9 things and write this which makes 10.

In my defense it would have taken me just as long to make dinner as it did to eat out with friends. So now I commence working, only 2 1/2 hours late.

Leave a Reply

