Old-Timey Poppies

Last weekend, at my parents house, the poppies were blooming, but I had forgotten my camera so I didn’t take any pictures. I did take this picture, the weekend before, May 10. They look cool even when they’re not in bloom. Furry and blue-green.

Ye olde timey poppies

Ye olde timey poppies

Ye olde timey barn with ye timey olde poppies

Ye olde barn with ye olde poppies

These orange poppies were planted around old Kansas farmsteads and survived for decades without any care or attention along with daylilies, irises, and lilacs. The patch at my parents house grows by the ruins of what I think is an old limestone barn. The only sad thing about them is that the blooms don’t last long. One really windy day and all of the petals blow away.

One thought on “Old-Timey Poppies

Leave a Reply

