New recipe of the week – Roasted Salmon with Herbed Yogurt

I love paging through cookbooks and cooking magazines but I rarely actually cook anything new. I even did this back in high school, I would bring home stacks of cookbooks from the public library every week and look through them. From all of those towering stacks of books, I think I cooked a whole ten new recipes during those four years.

These days I cook the same things over and over again and when I get bored with them I go out to eat. If only I would just cook something new, then maybe I would save some money, and I would find the common, standbys that I cook interesting again. I don’t, justifying my decision by telling myself that I would have to buy new ingredients for my pantry which is not always cheap. If I did that, though, maybe next time I wanted to cook something new, I would just have everything I needed on hand and the cost would be spread out over time.

Roasted Salmon with Herbed Yogurt

Roasted Salmon with Herbed Yogurt

So I decided to try one new recipe per week. I made Roasted Salmon with Herbed Yogurt, I got the recipe out of Everyday Food magazine. It didn’t require too much effort, I actually had all of the ingredients on hand with the exception of the fresh herbs so I didn’t have to buy anything new. Buying fresh herbs this time of year is very expensive so I just used dried instead, halved the amount, and it turned out just fine. My daughter even ate it but she loves fish which I think is very strange for a 4-year-old. Her favorite meal is tuna fish salad. It was very easy and good so I will definitely make it again since I eat a lot of salmon.

On a side note, the salad is just spinach and lettuce from my parents’ garden. I dressed it with olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and pepper. I had forgotten how much I love olive oil and lemon on a simple salad.

One thought on “New recipe of the week – Roasted Salmon with Herbed Yogurt

  1. How cool that your girl loves fish! And even cooler that you’re not talking fish sticks, but the real stuff. Ha! — And she was raised on a cattle farm, too.

Leave a Reply

