New recipe of the week – Thai-style stir-fried chicken and basil

Had to hurry and take the pic before it was all gone

Had to hurry and take the pic before it was all gone

On Saturday my friend Emily and her son G came over and we all went to the pool. When we returned they agreed to be my guinea pigs for my new recipe of the week, Thai-style stir-fried chicken and basil. (Actually just Emily agreed, G and N had peanut butter and jelly.) The recipe is out of the most recent issue of Fine Cooking. I found raw peanuts at the grocery store for the first time and threw in some of those too. Actually I threw in too many. Next time I’d use fewer of the peanuts or try some cashews. I couldn’t find any local basil for the recipe and had to buy the kind that comes in tiny plastic boxes and is EXPENSIVE. I loved this recipe but I will wait till basil is in season to make it again. The jasmine rice with it was amazing too, I think I’ll just eat it from now on. Maybe next time I can even get the little girl to try this out too.

I’m taking next week off for new recipes since I’m going out of town.

4 thoughts on “New recipe of the week – Thai-style stir-fried chicken and basil

  1. Ohhhhhh. Yep, I see it now! Sheesh. However…..delicious chicken dish, nice to see you again. If only I had a giant bottle of fish sauce.

Leave a Reply

