December 7 – Hip, hip, hippeastrum!

Hippeastrum MinervaI love amaryllis, err, hippeastrum. Whatever you want to call them. I found these at Wal-Mart for five bucks each! Much too cheap. I always feel guilty when I buy plants, etc. for supper cheap there. I know the grower is getting next to nothing for all of their hard work, especially the poinsettias. I will most definitely NOT be buying poinsettias at Wal-Mart. They can’t ever seem to water them right so they’re usually half dead anyway. Also, the Wal-Mart in my town is the worst Wal-Mart EVER! It is awful. Hellish. I’ve been in Wal-Marts that don’t make me want to pull my hair out but my town’s Wal-Mart is about 40 kinds of awful. On the other hand, usually when I  see amaryllis for five bucks they aren’t even labeled, except with a color, red, white, bicolor. These actually have a variety name, ‘Minerva’.

One thought on “December 7 – Hip, hip, hippeastrum!

Leave a Reply

