Favorite books – 2010

One of my new years resolutions for 2010 was to read a book a week. HAHAHA! Yeah, right! That didn’t happen. In 2011, I’m aiming for a books every two weeks, 26. In 2010 I read 24 books and some of them were awesome! Here are my ten favorites:

  1. All The Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy – I don’t know how many times I’ve read this book but it is still one of my all-time favorites. The movie adaptation is great too.
  2. Animals Make Us Human by Temple Grandin – I thought I knew a lot about animal behavior but this really brought a unique perspective. If you don’t want to read the whole book, at least read the first chapter and any chapter about a species that you have a great deal of interest in. Also Temple Grandin is AWESOME!
  3. Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins – I’ve never read anything by Tom Robbins before even though friends always told me I should. You gotta love a book that begins like this: “The beet is the most intense of vegetables. The radish, admittedly, is more feverish, but the fire of the radish is a cold fire, the fire of discontent, not of passion. Tomatoes are lusty enough, yet there runs through tomatoes an undercurrent of frivolity. Beets are deadly serious.”
  4. Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde – Jasper Fforde is one of my favorite authors. This is a new series of his. I’m definitely reading the next in the series, whenever it arrives.
  5. The Economics of Food: How Feeding and Fueling the Planet Affects Food Prices by Patrick Westhoff – After reading this book, every time I hear someone in the media declare that food prices are “a simple matter of supply and demand”, I want to puke. The world is no longer a simple place, including supply and demand. It is mainly about food and commodity prices in 2008 but it is an excellent primer for non-economists, such as myself, on this topic.
  6. Counter Culture: The American Coffee Shop Waitress by Candacy A. Taylor – This book made me cry, I can’t say that about very many books. A beautiful book about women who work very hard.
  7. Varieties of Disturbance by Lydia Davis – These stories, some very short, alternate between silly and moving.
  8. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larrson – Read the book before you see the movie. It is much better, also, you’ll be lest confused.
  9. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – Another great one by Cormac McCarthy. I’ve yet to see the movie.
  10. The Girl who Played with Fire by Stieg Larrson – See #8

As of today, I’ve only finished three books this year. Getting through 26 may be a challenge.

2 thoughts on “Favorite books – 2010

Leave a Reply

