Second generation petunias

Last year I planted two ‘Misty Lilac Wave’ petunias beside my air conditioner. This year I have a bunch of volunteer petunias!

petunia misty lilac wave offspring

‘Misty Lilac Wave’ is an F1 hybrid, I believe, so these are F2 hybrids. This is the problem growing with F1 hybrids if you want to collect seed. The F2 generation is highly variable. Some will look like the parent plants, others won’t.

petunia misty lilac wave offspring

I don’t necessarily consider hybrids a problem. I have a bunch of free petunias out of the deal and I really like them. They remind me of old-fashioned petunias that reseed themselves every year though they aren’t nearly as tall.

petunia misty lilac wave offspring

BTW this is my Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day post. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

